UDI Design Experts

Global higher education continues to face different challenges such as regional regulations, political uncertainty, cultural nuances and the advancement of digital technologies. Our team of design experts and thought leaders are energized by the intricacies and complexities of these issues and driven to stay at the forefront of international trends. They leverage their expertise to support UDI in finding innovative, practical and effective solutions to address the future of higher education for all.

UDI Leadership & Team

Michael Crow
Michael Crow

President, ASU
Chair, University Design Institute

Minu Ipe
Minu Ipe

Vice Chair and Managing Director,
University Design Institute 

Joel Dupuis

Senior Director, Client Solutions

Beatriz Fuentes-Anderson

Program Manager

Tamara Webb

Director, Content and Learning Products

Dale Johnson

Director, Digital Innovation


Doug Becker, CEO of Cintana
Doug Becker

Former Chairman and CEO,
Laureate Education 

Founder, Cintana

Doug Becker is the founder of Cintana, founder & former Chairman and CEO of Laureate Education and co-founder of Sterling Partners. Doug ardently believes universities are indispensable in the development of nations, communities and individuals. His work is driven by his vision of using highly innovative design principles to deliver breakthroughs in quality and scale for all levels of education.

Sir Malcolm Grant, Chairman of the Board of the National Health Service, England Chancellor of the University of New York
Sir Malcolm Grant

Chancellor, University of York

Former President and Provost,
University College London

Sir Malcolm Grant is Chancellor of the University of York. Previously, he served as Chairman of NHS England, President & Provost of UCL from 2003-2013, and was previously Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Cambridge & Professor and Head of Department of Land Economy. He has a strong interest in higher education globally and advancements in education and public service. 

Maysa Jalbout, Nonresident Fellow – Brookings Institution
Maysa Jalbout

Former CEO, Abdulla Al Ghurair Foundation for Education 

Nonresident Fellow, Brookings Institution

Maysa Jalbout is a recognized international development and philanthropic leader, committed to supporting the most vulnerable global communities. As founding CEO of the Abdulla Al Ghurair Foundation for Education, Forbes recognized Maysa as one of the 100 most powerful businesswomen in the Arab world. At Brookings, Jalbout’s extensive experience has allowed her to produce thought leadership in several educational fields.

Dáire Keogh, University President – Dublin City University
Dáire Keogh

President, Dublin City University

Dáire Keogh is a Professor of History, Deputy President of DCU and the University's President-designate beginning July 2020. Dáire served as President of St Patrick’s College Drumcondra (2012-16).  A former Government of Ireland Senior Research Fellow, he is currently Principal Investigator of an Irish Research Council funded project to publish the extensive correspondence of Cardinal Paul Cullen. 

Ju-Ho Lee, Nonresident Fellow - Brookings Institution
Ju-Ho Lee

Former Minister, Education, Science and Technology of the Republic of Korea

Ju-Ho Lee served as Minister of Education, Science, and Technology of the Republic of Korea from 2010 to 2013. He is recognized for his education reform endeavors and actively works for the international community as a Commissioner of the Education Commission, a Commissioner of 3ie and a Chair of the Education Workforce Initiative.

Rafael Rangel-Sostmann, Special Advisor to the President of ASU
Rafael Rangel-Sostmann

Former President, Tecnológico de Monterrey

Rafael Rangel-Sostmann is the former President of Tecnológico de Monterrey, the largest private, non-profit educational system in Mexico. During his 26-year tenure, Rangel promoted knowledge-based economic development and entrepreneurial spirit among students, opened 34 business incubators, 22 global liaison offices, 14 technology parks, and ensured programs included humanities, applied ethics and civic education components. 

Jeff Selingo
Jeff Selingo

Former Editor, Chronicle of Higher Education

Special Advisor to the President


Jeff Selingo has written about higher education for more than two decades and is a New York Times bestselling author of three books. His latest book, Who Gets In & Why: A Year Inside College Admissions, was published in September 2020 and was named among the 100 Notable Books of the year by the New York Times. A regular contributor to The Atlantic, Jeff is a special advisor for innovation and professor of practice at Arizona State University. He also co-hosts the podcast, FutureU. He lives in Washington, DC with his family.

Experts in Residence

Derrick Anderson

Global Expert
Senior Vice President, American Council on Education

Angela Owusu-Ansah

Global Expert
Provost, Ashesi University, Ghana
National Commissioner, Council for Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)

Carlos Ivan Moreno

Global Expert
Chief Academic and Innovation Officer, Universidad de Guadalajara
Policy Advisor at the Ministry of Higher Education, Mexico

Satoshi Watanabe

Global Expert
Senior Fellow in the Secretariat of Science, Technology, and Innovation Policy, the Cabinet Office of the Government of Japan

Sean Hobson
Sean Hobson

Chief Design Officer, EdPlus @ ASU

Jeff Goss
Jeff Goss

Associate Vice Provost & Executive Director, Global Outreach and Extended Education, ASU

Grace O'Sullivan
Grace O'Sullivan

Vice President, ASU Knowledge Enterprise

Stephen Feinson
Stephen Feinson

Associate Vice President
Managing Director, ASU Knowledge Enterprise

Duke Reiter
Duke Reiter

Senior Advisor to the President
Executive Director, University City Exchange, ASU

Tamara Christensen

Executive Consultant, Facilitator and Author
Founder, Idea Farm

Rivadavia Drummond
Rivadavia Drummond

Clinical Assistant Professor,
Business and Service Model Innovation

Former C-Level Leader, Brazil

Paola Garcia
Paola Garcia Hidalgo

Senior Director, Mexico Affairs, ASU

Lev Gonick

Chief Information Officer, ASU


Julia Rosen

Vice President, ASU Global Academic Initiatives

Kim Merritt

Vice President, ASU Learning Enterprise

Julie Young

Vice President, ASU Preparatory Academy